The Fifteenth Annual Scribe Awards (2021)

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers (IAMTW) recognizes the wide range of authors who work on media tie-ins. Often overlooked, these writers craft exciting tales using beloved characters and settings of franchises including the likes of Mike Hammer, Firefly, Murder She Wrote, James Bond, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Star Wars, Doctor Who, and Star Trek. These stories can be original adventures, or adaptations of movies or television episodes. They include all genres and a wide range of lengths and formats.

To recognize the accomplishments of the unsung authors in this particular field, the IAMTW sponsors the annual Scribe Awards. This year’s awards have six categories to highlight excellence in Novels (Adapted and Original–General, Original–Speculative), Short Stories, Audio Dramas, Young Adult/Middle Grade works, and Graphic Novels.

Congratulations to all the nominees.

Audio Drama:
The Enemy of My Enemy by Tracey Ann Baines
He Kills Me, He Kills Me Not by Carrie Thompson
Out of Time by Matt Fitton
Save Our Souls by Scott Handcock
Tropical Beach Sounds and Other Relaxing Seascapes #4 by Tim Foley

General Original Novel and Adapted Novel:
Masquerade for Murder by Max Allan Collins
Mindgame by David J. Howe
Day Zero (Watch Dogs Legion) by James Swallow & Josh Reynolds
The Rise of Skywalker by Rae Carson

Graphic Novel:
Blade Runner by Michael Green and Mike Johnson
Darth Vader Volume 1: Dark Heart of the Sith by Greg Pak
Horizon Zero Dawn by Anne Toole
Life is Strange by Emma Vieceli
Two Doctors by Jody Houser

Original Novel – Speculative:
Firefly: The Ghost Machine by James Lovegrove
MCU Avengers: The Extinction Key by Greg Keyes
Star Trek Discovery: Die Standing by John Jackson Miller
Star Trek: More Beautiful Than Death by David Mack (Kelvin Timeline)
Star Trek: Agents of Influence by Dayton Ward (TOS)

Short Story:
“Extermination Examination” by Robbie MacNiven
“Scritch, Scratch” by Monica Valentinelli
“Stone by Stone” by Christie Golden
“Useful Parasites” by M. K. Hutchins
“A View from Olympus” by Gareth Hanrahan

In the Study With the Wrench by Diana Peterfreund
Liberty and Justice for All by Carrie Harris
The Rise of Skywalker by Michael Kogge
The Rise of the Archer-Illager by Matt Forbeck
The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel by Sheela Chari

IAMTW President Jonathan Maberry will announce the winners on Friday July 2 at 4pm Pacific time via Facebook Live on the organization’s group page at