2018 Scribe Award Nominees

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is pleased to announce the Scribe Award Nominees for 2018.

Acknowledging excellence in this very competitive field, the IAMTW’s Scribe Awards honor licensed works that tie in with other media such as television, movies, gaming, or comic books. They include original works set in established universes, and adaptations of stories that have appeared in other formats and that cross all genres. Tie-in works run the gamut from westerns to mysteries to procedurals, from science fiction to fantasy to horror, from action and adventure to superheroes. Just a few examples include: Shadowrun and Pathfinder; M*A*S*H* and The Mod Squad; Wonder Woman, the Bionic Woman, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

The Scribe Award winners will be announced at ComicCon San Diego in July. The exact day, time and location of the Scribes Panel including the award ceremony will be announced once it’s known.
The IAMTW thanks everyone who sent entries, all wonderful, for consideration. Congratulations to the following nominees:

Short Story

“Banana Republic” by Jonathan Maberry
“Ganbatte” by Keith DeCandido
“Murderers´ Row” by John Jackson Miller
“Pacing Place” by Bob Mayer
“Rear Guard” by Sarah Stegall
“Storm Blood” by Peter Wacks and David Boop

Adapted Speculative and General

Doctor Who: The Pirate Planet by James Goss
Resident Evil: The Final Chapter by Tim Waggoner
Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Christie Golden
Kong Skull Island by Tim Lebbon

Original Speculative

The Librarians and the Mother Goose Chase by Greg Cox
Solar Singularity by Peter J. Wacks, Guy Anthony Demarco, and Josh Voight
Halo: Legacy of Onyx by Matt Forbeck
Star Wars Battlefront II: Inferno Squad by Christie Golden
Star Trek Discovery: Desperate Hours by David Mack
Supernatural: The Usual Sacrifices by Yvonne Navarro

Original General

Don Pendleton´s The Executioner Fatal Prescription by Michael A. Black
The Will to Kill by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins
Robert B. Parker´s The Hangman´s Sonnet A Jesse Stone Novel by Reed Farrel Coleman

YA Original

Star Wars Adventures in Wild Space – The Cold by Cavan Scott
Warriors Three: Godhood´s End by Keith R. A. DeCandido
X-Files Origins: Devil´s Advocate by Jonathan Maberry


Doctor Who: Across the Darkened City by David Bartlett
Doctor Who: Cold Vengeance by Matt Fitton
Warhammer 40,000: Agent of the Throne, Blood and Lies by John French
Torchwood: Cascade by Scott Handcock
Torchwood: The Dying Room by Lizzie Hopley

International Association of Media Tie-In Writers 2017 Faust Award

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers is thrilled to name Greg Cox our 2018 Grandmaster with the presentation of the Faust Award in recognition of his lifetime of excellence and achievement in writing and editing tie-in fiction.

Mr. Cox is a New York Times bestselling author and a consulting editor at TOR Books who has contributed to numerous franchises including The Librarians, Leverage, Star Trek, and Zorro. He has written original works set in those universes, and wrote the official novelizations of the first three Underworld movies, War for the Planet of the Apes, Godzilla, Man of Steel, and The Dark Knight Rises, to name only some.

He has also written short stories based on such popular series as Alias, The Avengers, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, C.S.I., Farscape, Fantastic Four, The Green Hornet, Terminator , Warhouse 13, Xena, The X-Files, and X-Men, to give only a partial list. He has received three Scribe Awards from the International Association of Media Tie-In Writers. In addition, he wrote the official movie novelizations of novelizations of four popular DC Comics miniseries: Infinite Crisis, 52, Countdown and Final Crisis.